- Can Your Kids Sue You for Putting Baby Photos on Facebook?
- Woman Sues Starbucks for $5M Over Too Much Ice in Its Drinks
- Lyft Settlement rejected by Judge Chhabria
- RackSpace Hosting – Class Action Investigation
- Nexus 5 WiFi Problem Investigation
- How to Lemon a Car
- Ashley Madison Hack Leads to a $578 Million Class Action Lawsuit
- Touch Of Modern Being Sued for SPAM
- Do You Trust Doctors More Than Lawyers? Here’s Why You Shouldn’t
- Uber’s $250,000 Campaign Contribution to Eric Garcetti Might Be Holding The Mayor Back
Used Car Lemon Law
Few people know about the existence of a law called lemon law or the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act. Fewer people know about the used car lemon law. The thing is that there really exists such a law in some states while in others there is none. For example, Philadelphia has instituted a used car lemon law to protect used car buyers form defective and problematic vehicles. According to the law, the buyers of used vehicles may require a refund or a repair from the manufacturer if within 72 hours of the vehicle’s purchase a licensed mechanic declares it a lemon. After the vehicle has been declared to have a defect, the dealer must either repair the car or fully refund it within 10 days.
Other states that have some kind of a used car lemon law are Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, New Jersey etc. Like in the case of lemon law, each state has its own limitations and restrictions governing the used car lemon laws. However, all of these laws are meant to deal with the problems that used car buyers usually face.
Used car lemon laws have something in general, they work if:
- You have bought the vehicle from a dealership rather than a private seller
- You have used the vehicle mainly for personal purposes and not for business ones
Often, for the law to work for you, the dealer or the seller must have given you any kind of a warranty. The existence of the warranty does not always mean that the car owner is not required to pay for the repairs and the maintenance of the car. In some states people are even charged a certain amount of money for the repairs of their vehicles.
Good news is that even if you do not live in a state where you can be covered under the used car lemon law; there are other acts and laws that protect used car buyers from used car fraud, deception, dealer tricks etc.
If you feel you have been cheated by the dealer or you have been sold a defective vehicle, you should contact a lemon law lawyer or and auto dealer fraud attorney. The lawyer will evaluate your case and see what law you may qualify under. In many states lemon law lawyers work on a contingency fee basis, this means that you will not have to pay them unless they have won the case for you in the court. This is a good option for those people who cannot afford high attorney’s fees.